happy Mother’s Day to my mom!

Mom, thank you for being the kind of mom who pushed us to work hard and fearlessly pursue what makes us happy. I am 100% sure I wouldn’t be a 24 year old business owner without an example like you in the back of my mind challenging me to constantly push myself. Thank you for helping me learn how to spell (as seen below, I needed it). Thank you for helping me with all of the over-the-top school projects I wanted to do instead of telling me they were ridiculous (which they were, but I got As!)  Thank you for talking me out of dropping out and moving back home when I called you crying halfway through my first semester of college. Thank you for working so hard your whole life so we could have doors open for us that weren’t open for you.

You would probably never guess by looking at the Mother’s Day booklet I wrote and illustrated at the age of 6 (below) that I would end up majoring in journalism or doing anything that would even remotely resemble art. I like to think I’m just a late bloomer, and I think in many ways you are too, mom. Did you know Colonel Sanders was 65 when he founded KFC? Or that Julia Child was an intelligence officer before she learned to cook at 40, and was in her 50s when she published her first book? Or that Marion Irvine, a Catholic nun and heavy smoker, started running at age 47 and went on to qualify for the Olympic marathon trials at age 54? I can’t wait to see what this new chapter in life has for you.

Happy Mother’s Day. I love you!

Leave a comment

Filed under personal

Leave a Reply

