A mini-post for our mini-Christmas

It’s been a tough few months for my family and I went back and forth about whether to share this sort of thing but it’s all put so much in perspective for me. The miracle of this story is that first over Thanksgiving and then again just a few days before Christmas, unrelated, non-life threatening issues sent my mom to the hospital where they found and were able to treat life-threatening issues she didn’t know she had. (Did you know it’s common for women to have a heart attack and not even know it’s happening?!) Someone who’s better at math than me could do the odds on that – a random, relatively minor issue sending her to the hospital just in time to save her life twice in two months. I bet it would be astronomical.

I’m sort of known for working all the time, and with so much editing from a super busy fall wedding season I had every intention of working straight through the holidays to get as much done for my clients as possible. I love what I do, I love my clients, and I’m a people-pleaser perhaps to a fault sometimes. All this craziness forced me to slow down and accept that, try as I might, I can’t control everything. It also reminded me that as important as all the special moments I shoot for my clients are, the special moments in my own life are just as important. I’m so thankful that against all odds my mom was released just in time to spend Christmas at home. I’m thankful she was well enough to read The Night Before Christmas to me and my sister (and my dogs!) like she has every year since we were born. I’m thankful for our last-minute dollar store kitchen Christmas tree. I’m thankful for the cookies Colleen and I baked and didn’t ruin (a true Christmas miracle!), and that while we baked we got to watch and quote Home Alone like we did when we were kids. (Wait, are we not still kids?) It was a “little” Christmas but I have a feeling it’ll be more memorable than all our “big” ones, not because of the stress and worry but because I was 100 percent present for it, able to soak it in and be truly thankful for it. I couldn’t have asked for anything more this holiday season.

Thank you everyone for all the good thoughts and prayers being sent our way. Hug the ones you love real tight.

4 Comments

Filed under personal

4 responses to “A mini-post for our mini-Christmas

  1. Shawn

    Bridget,

    Your family has been in our prayers and I am thrilled to see you had a small but wonderful Christmas! What a blessing:)

    Shawn Kapusnik

  2. I am so glad you posted this!! My mom had a mild heart attack years ago without recognizing the signs.. Finally she thought something wasn’t right and still in the emergency room she had no idea her heart was failing. It scared me to death! She much healthier today and I am so glad your mother was able to be home with you and on the mend! Sometimes we need a wake up call to slow down and take it all in.. : )

  3. Katie

    So glad to hear your mom is doing well and she made it home for Christmas!

  4. Bridget, I’m happy you mom is feeling better! Thank you for sharing this story…those little moments are sure the ones to be thankful!
    I hope you have a great New Years with your family!
    Carol

Leave a Reply

